facebook twitter blogger instagram pinterest goodreads
sonia gensler sonia gensler

The Dark Between

2014 Oklahoma Book Award Finalist
2014 SCBWI Crystal Kite Award Finalist

The Dark Between

Kate is a schemer,
Asher is a skeptic,
Elsie is a dreamer . . . who can speak with the dead.

At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of Cambridge, England. While mediums dupe the grief-stricken, a group of local fringe scientists seeks to bridge the gap to the spirit world by investigating the dark corners of the human mind.

Each running from a shadowed past, Kate, Asher, and Elsie take refuge within the walls of Summerfield College. But their peace is soon shattered by the discovery of a dead body nearby. Is this the work of a flesh-and-blood villain, or is something otherworldly at play? This unlikely trio must illuminate what the scientists have not, and open a window to secrets taken to the grave—or risk joining the spirit world themselves.

The Dark Between, a supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, is perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray.

See the setting of The Dark Between on Flickr
Learn about Sonia's Author Visit opportunities
Check out Sonia's handy list of Gothic fiction for readers of all ages

BUY THE BOOK:
Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million

BUY THE eBOOK:
Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million


    The Dark Between Trailer
    

    Behind the Scenes of The Dark Between
    

Summerfield Gatehouse Trinity Gate
The main setting for The Dark Between, Summerfield College, is based on Newnham College, Cambridge, a post-secondary institution for women founded in 1871. Many of the founding members of the Metaphysical Society (inspired by the Society for Psychical Research) were graduates of Trinity College, Cambridge, founded in 1546.

The above photos were taken by Sonia Gensler and enhanced with the "Firefly" filter from Camera Awesome.


Praise

"Lovers of intrigue should enjoy this lively Victorian mystery whose teen heroes experience danger, romance and ethical dilemmas as they delve into 'the dark between.'"
   —Kirkus Reviews

"Gensler imbues her latest with plenty of information on the history of psychic research as well as a healthy dose of romance."
   —Booklist

"The blending of the empirical and the ethereal creates a vivid and intriguing backdrop for this murder mystery. The teens are fully developed characters with well-defined motives for their actions, and the story will evoke empathy from readers."
   —School Library Journal

"Gensler elegantly blends historical fiction with the paranormal in an engaging, page-turning plot that will hook readers from the very beginning and keep them racing through the pages until the very last one."
   —Examiner.com


Knopf, hardcover, August 2013, ISBN: 9780375867026
Ember, paperback, August 2015, ISBN: 9780375861406